Food photography practice 1

I have a photo shoot with Madermarket Kitchens (link to their website here) this month for their new menus and for other advertising reasons. I achieved this by going to an interview for Storehouse magazine and they happily agreed for me to do it.

I have never shot food before… but that doesn’t stop me.

Nor have I used flash on location before although slightly daunting, by the middle/end of January I will have practiced enough to be comfortable with it when shooting. Here’s an image below with the first time taking a flash out and having a go with food photography.

food test lq.jpg

The guest lecturer Scott Grummet who inspried me to stay at NUA and stick at it (bascically see the bigger picture during my first term) is helping me at food by email and instagram. Below is a screen shot of scott commenting on this picture when i posted it to my regulaly updated instagram (My instagram link).

Screen Shot 2016-01-12 at 17.47.41.png

Screen Shot 2016-01-12 at 17.48.28.png

I will try to aim for 3 food shoots a day in order to get better. This means walking to MRC everyday to borrow equipment but to improve that’s what i need to do and i will.

 

Leave a Reply

