Food photography practice 2a

Screen Shot 2016-01-04 at 22.51.53 copy.jpg

Talking with Scott Grummett and sharing my images with him, he said I want to be shooting food 2-3 times a day to keep improving. I’m aiming for 1-2 shoots a day which I am hitting at the minute. It’s not a pace I can keep up with but for a short period is something I’m needing to do to improve my food photography experimenting with different lighting conditions and what effect it has.

This image was lit with one Speedlight off camera positioned to the right of the image bounced off the ceiling. This gave off a soft light across the image complimenting the food, and also making it more attractive, warming to the person viewing it. Nice green and brown, white tones show off from the soft light making the food appealing. The background is of my kitchen worktop which could improve this image dramatically if items were properly positioned and was on a nice wooden table top.

Leave a Reply

