New personal project: Bus station portraits

Bus station portraits is the start of a new personal project for me. The area is literally a one minute walk from my accommodation where I see lots of people waiting for their buses. Every time I’ve walked passed, The wooden fence I think makes a good backdrop.

There’s many ways this project can go. It could just be portraits of people like below which are not set up. Or I could go up to them first, introduce myself and ask them what they’re doing, where they’re going and then set up a portrait after.

I’m really interested in the latter and then including the infomation I had gathered as a caption for example:

(Portrait of person waiting for bus, set up looking at the camera)

Caption:
John, Norwich Bus Station,
Waiting for Bus 8,
Meeting his Grandma for coffee
Wednesday, 10th April, 2016.

Something like the above is what I want to do along with a portait. I think it has potential but I wont know for sure until I try it, set the shot, get the info for the caption and print it as a double page spread. From there, I can show people and myself asking them if it works and more importantly, if people want to see it. I’ve gotten the idea from passing the area more than twice a day and inspirtation from Niall Mcdiarmid.

This could expand to going to different bus stations like Niall’s project did.

IMG_7414 web.jpg

Leave a Reply

