Student ambassador

On 7th January, I decided I want to become a student ambassador… so I emailed Junkeo (shown below). A couple of days before I emailed Junkeo, I ended up accidently being an ambassador whilst getting a coffee from the Duke Street building whilst getting a coffee and ended up speaking to someone’s parents. Another parent joined in our conversation and it wasn’t long until their teenagers did. I was talking about how Norwich is as a city, how the university is, how I love where I am and what I’m doing. I’m extremely confident talking to strangers so I thought, if I can do it that easy, why not do it for promoting the university. When I was looking around, the ones that stood out to me were the ones who had ambassadors who were friendly, liked the uni and communicated properly. If it means helping others choose their university, speak to more strangers, free coffee and get paid for it, I thought this is the job for me to have whilst doing my studies.

Screen Shot 2016-04-22 at 22.01.59

Screen Shot 2016-04-22 at 22.03.36

After Junkeo gave me Tori’s email, I emailed Tori to see if they were any more vacancies available.

Screen Shot 2016-04-22 at 22.05.05

She said at the time they wasn’t any going but she would let me know when they are looking. Four months later, I got an email from Tori asking if i was still interested. I arranged a meeting with her today and applied. Next week, I’m training and see what happens from there. Every form is filled out and I got chance to meet the marketing team, Fay one of the marketing team which I already know through emails and meet ups was happy to see me there and looking forward to having me on board. I’m really excited for this. It means talking to more strangers, which just improves my confidence further, so when it comes to speaking to potential clients and people at photography meet ups, I can introduce myself professionally, first impression is everything in the industry… something I learnt from assisting Scott Grummet.
Screen Shot 2016-04-22 at 22.05.59

Leave a Reply

